top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureclairelouisesmm1

Birthing a Business & a Teenage Girl: My Labor of Love


As the big 1-3 approaches this Sunday, my darling daughter Charley is giddy with anticipation. And admittedly, so am I. There's just something about the teenage years that feels monumental. I can already envision more of the drama, the mood swings, and the constant eye-rolls over my "uncool" music tastes. Not to mention the terrifying thought of her dating! Ah, what fun lies ahead!


In all seriousness though, it's hard to believe my baby girl is almost a teenager. Wasn't it just yesterday that I was dressing her up in cute outfits and building block towers? Now she stays up past her bedtime binge-watching Stranger Things and perfecting her eyeliner technique. They grow up so fast, don't they?


Watching Charley blossom from a round-faced toddler into a tall, gangly almost woman is equal parts thrilling and nostalgic for me. It makes me think back to my own teenage era when I was convinced I knew everything and my poor mother didn't know anything. Sorry mama!


But I digress down memory lane. This weekend isn't about me - it's about celebrating my darling daughter! And I intend to throw her the most epic 13th birthday bash ever. I'm talking rainbow sprinkles cupcakes, a giant chocolate fountain, and a karaoke dance party that will make Hannah Montana's concerts look lame. Oh, and did I mention the llama petting zoo in the backyard? What can I say, I'm a cool mum!


In all sincerity, Charley deserves the best birthday I can give her. As my youngest girl, she's grown up quickly and learned to hold her own. Though the baby of our family, she's no pushover. And now, her 5-year-old step-sister wants to be just like her!


Don't let her girly exterior fool you either - this kid is whip-smart. She may drive her teachers crazy with chatter, but Charley is incredibly clever and creative when she puts her mind to schoolwork. She has big dreams of starting her own makeup line someday (she's already an expert).


One minute Charley is the sweetest person you'll ever meet, chatting for hours about makeup tips with her friends. But cross her and she can turn on a whim, with quite the sassy attitude. I blame the pre-teen hormones! Even before she was born, Charley made a dramatic entrance by splitting my pelvis during pregnancy - forcing me into a wheelchair for months. To this day, she proudly claims that as her first major accomplishment!


Now at 13, Charley marches to the beat of her own drum. She obsesses over the latest fashion trends, though her bedroom always remains a messy disaster zone.


Despite our ups and downs, watching her grow into a unique, complex young woman has been the adventure of a lifetime. Even on the hardest days, I wouldn't trade this journey for anything.


As I reflect on Charley turning 13, it motivates me to continue building my business legacy so she can feel proud someday. When I first started this entrepreneurial journey, my goals were simple - I just wanted to provide a good life for my family doing what I love.


I want to create a company culture that nurtures creativity long after I'm gone. My hope is that my kids will look back one day and say “Wow, my mum did that!”


Of course, her happiness is still my number one priority. Our memories as a family are what truly matter, not achievements or money. Still, I believe you can find purpose in both raising a family and building a company.


As an entrepreneur and mother, work-life balance has always been a challenge. But watching Charley grow makes every struggle worthwhile. I hope I've modelled that when you stay determined, you can follow your passion.


They say behind every great woman is an even better mother who inspired her. Well, I hope to be that mum for Charley. She has so much potential waiting to unfold. My job is to nurture her gifts and encourage her big dreams—whether that means taking over my business someday or forging her own path.


No matter what’s in store, I want Charley to know this:

I will always be your biggest cheerleader. I will celebrate your joys as my own and guide you when you’re lost. Most importantly, I will love you unconditionally, even when we clash. Because you, my darling girl, will forever be the legacy I cherish most.


Happy Birthday, Tinkerbell.


Thanks for reading, until next time

Claire Louise


7 views0 comments

Opmerkingen

Beoordeeld met 0 uit 5 sterren.
Nog geen beoordelingen

Voeg een beoordeling toe
bottom of page